Who’s Who

President, Board of Trustees

H. Richard Duval

Dick Duval head shot

H. Richard Duval was appointed Board President in January 2012.

A native Cincinnatian, Dick attended Xavier University and the Art Academy and served as a U.S. Army medic. More recently a partner in the development firm of Bloomfield, Schon + Partners, he has been a successful urban real estate developer for over fifty years.

Dick’s career began with the Mount Adams revival of the early 1960s. Since then, he’s gone on to renovate and reuse a series of great buildings: the former Edwards Manufacturing Company downtown, Nicola’s Car Barn in Over-the-Rhine, and First Step Home and the Ford Factory in Walnut Hills (both CPA Rehabilitation Award winners). He’s also run restaurants and bars in historic buildings, including Chapter XIII in Mount Adams, the 20 Mile House in Loveland  and Sky Galley at Lunken Airport.  Bloomfield, Schon completed the monumental renovation of American Can Lofts in Northside, featured in the Winter 2012 newsletter.

Prior to becoming President, Dick served two years on CPA’s Board of Directors. His civic involvement includes many other arts and social service organizations, ranging from Summerfair to the Walnut Hills Redevelopment Foundation.

Dick and his wife, Kit, have two children and two grandchildren. Believing that preservation begins at home, they live in a century-old Tudor Revival residence in East Walnut Hills.


Paul Muller Executive Director

Paul Muller, AIA, an award-winning architect and preservation practitioner, is Cincinnati Preservation Association’s Executive Director.

Paul, principal of Muller Architects, Inc., stepped in as interim executive director and later accepted our top position on a permanent basis and immediately began directing efforts on key initiatives.

Paul has been an invaluable resource to CPA and professionally involved in the field of historic preservation for more than 20 years. He is a past president of our company’s board of trustees. He personally championed saving the Walnut Hills Presbyterian Church Tower, a 10-story tower that stands as a tribute to the anti-slavery movement in Cincinnati.  Paul managed efforts to renovate the Rauh House in Woodlawn, a recent gift to CPA and the transformation of Pinecroft, the Powel Crosley, Jr., estate into a conference and event center.

At Muller Associates, Paul’s projects have ranged from creating historic façade guidelines for cities to innovative adaptive reuse projects. He received an Honor Award from the Cincinnati Chapter of the American Institute of Architects for a study commissioned by the City of Newport. He has also been honored with a Paul Philippe Cret Medal for Design Achievement by the University of Pennsylvania and with an Individual Achievement in Historic Preservation Award from CPA.

Paul is a great steward of our region’s built assets. Feel free to give him a call personally to let him know your own concern on a preservation matter.

Margo Warminski Preservation Director

As CPA’s Preservation Director, Margo Warminski coordinates the technical preservation-related tasks at CPA. Her areas of responsibility include research, advocacy, providing design-review opinions, assisting with easements, educating the public about preservation through monthly programs and assisting with agency ev­ents and publicity.

Margo has worked in the historic preservation field in the Cincinnati area for over twenty years and has been part of CPA’s preservation leadership for eleven years. Prior to joining CPA, she worked as a historic preservation consultant specializing in historical research, architectural surveys, and nominations to the National Register of Historic Places. Her special interest is urban vernacular architecture: buildings that tell the stories of ordinary people. From 2000 to 2004 she worked with us as a part-time consultant. In addition to preparing Register nominations and preservation tax credit applications, her many tasks included researching and writing the program for our annual May house tour.

Margo holds a B.A. in English language and literature from the University of Michigan and studied Community Planning, with a concentration in historic preservation, at the University of Cincinnati. Not only is she an accomplished preservationist, but she is also an excellent writer! When she isn’t busy at work, she is restoring a 1907 workingman’s cottage in the East Row Historic District of Newport, Kentucky, of which she is the second owner.

Rebecca Stone 
Business Manager

Rebecca attended University of Cincinnati, where she majored in Real Estate and earned a Business Administration degree.

As business manager, Rebecca manages CPA’s $6,000,000 worth of properties and keeps the office functioning; accounts payable, accounts receivable, payroll, office management.  She is a member of the Association of Fundraising Professionals.  Working with trustees on the  management and execution of  parties and events is one of her favorite duties.

Rebecca has a passion for preservation and lives in a 1928 neo-Tudor in Norwood that she says is in a perpetual state of restoration.


Officers, Board of Trustees

H. Richard Duval, Historic Building Redeveloper

Vice Presidents
Mary Piper, Community Volunteer
Margaret Valentine, Business Professional
Tony Woodward, Realtor

Jennifer Martin, Certified Public Accountant


Julia Carney, Attorney
Casey Coston, Community Activist & Writer
Mary Croft, Community Activist
Josh Heuser, Business Developer
Robert Horine, County Administrator
Eric E. Landen, Attorney
Jenni McCauley, Realtor
Maureen McDermott, Real Estate Developer & Artist
Greg Olson, Real Estate Developer
John Mellott, Certified Public Accountant
Abigail T. Tuke, Marketing Professional
Arthur Sturbaum, Soil & FoundationEngineer
David Zelman, Architect

Advisory Board

Ann Antenen
Ronald T. Bates
John A. Bentley
J. Leland Brewster, II
Christopher A. Cain
Edward Dohrmann
Bruce Goetzman
Margaret E. Hammelrath
Cornelius W. Hauck
Anthony W. Hobson
Thomas Huenefeld
Ken Jones
Peter E. Koenig
Walter E. Langsam
Stewart S. Maxwell
Alfred A. Moore
H. C. Buck Niehoff
Fred Mitchell
Patrick Snadon
James Tarbell
Margaret H. Wyant