About Us


The Who, What, When, Where and Why of CPA

Our Mission

To promote the appreciation, protection and appropriate use and development of the Cincinnati region’s historic buildings, communities and landscapes.

Our Vision

  • We advocate for preservation.
  • We build and strengthen community relationships and collaborations.
  • We advocate for local, state and federal legislation and policies.
  • We engage and educate our membership and community.
  • We provide the resources to achieve preservation.
  • We celebrate history and architecture.


Our 50th Anniversary Exhibition at the Cincinnati Museum Center tells the story of preservation in Cincinnati since our founding in 1964. View some the panels here. CPA Exhibit-SecA-000

Cincinnati Preservation Association is a not-for-profit organization that serves the Greater Cincinnati community as the recognized resource and catalyst for the preservation of historic cultural resources such as architecturally significant buildings, archaeological sites, historic public art and monuments and landscapes. This is accomplished through education, advocacy, and technical support.

Why Preservation?

Quality of Life

Historic buildings grant character to communities. As the tangible link to our unique history and culture, they are irreplaceable.


Arthur Sturbaum
Julia Carney 
Vice President 
Rob Crapsey  
Vice President
Clark Sole
Vice President
Judie List Sweeney  
Vice President
Eric Landen 
Mark E. Scott
Executive Director 
Paul Muller, AIA
William Baumann
Michael L. Burson 
Ashleigh Finke
Kendall Fisher
James R. Gibbs
Melissa Godoy
Joseph Huber
Daniel Lipson
The Hon. Mark Mallory
Mark McKillip
Murray Monroe   
Paul Moran
Steven Rosen
Jens Rosenkrantz
Sherry Glover Thompson
Shawn P. Tubb
Margaret Valentine